Feedback Form
  Page loading ..
 
WebTips - Discover, Share, Ask

Free Online Tips Blog

 

Welcome to the WebTips community! WebTips is collaborative weblog where you can share tips and tricks, news, views and reviews, hacks and tools, etc and get rewarded.

Join us ..
 

Yet another tricky spam mail || A job offer with a difference

[ - ]  [ x ]
Contributed by: ramnath on December 30, 2006  |  Comment
Spams flooding my gmail account

Till now I have been getting tons and tons of spammy emails every day in my inbox just like you all. But very recently I received one spam mail which is a bit different from the others. For quite a long time I posted a few of my skill sets in my profile and this spammer was smart enough to realize that I have the required skill sets of a web designer. I must mention here that anyone joining our community can have a profile page.

The spam mail ..

This email looked a bit different from other spam mails.

  • Subject: some information
  • Signed by: yahoo.co.in
  • To: xxxxx@hotmail.de

The body of the mail (stuffed with spelling mistakes) was pretty similar to other job offers and it said .. “We are looking for a fulltime employee, who exclusively will work for us …”. But then I discovered this .. “To convince us about your skills, we would like you to design some test layouts, similar to the examples we sent you in the attachment of this mail, but not a copy of them or others.” The mail concluded like this .. “thank you in advance and we hope we will receive your test-layout soon.” It also contained an attachment (like all other spam mails I guess), a word document with screenshots of some fairly renowned sites. They asked me to prepare layouts similar to these screenshots and send them so that they may have a look at my ‘actual skill sets’.

I was pretty surprised with this. But I replied to them asking for the url of their homepage. But they replied (!) by saying that they are about to launch a website! They also mentioned .. “We will select in few days the desingers. Pls send us this in few days,( test layout) with name xxx.”

My conclusion ..

I was pretty convinced that this is nothing but a nicely camouflaged trap for me. They gave the impression (in the first mail) that they are a pretty BIG web designing company. But they are yet to launch a web site! What I concluded from the whole episode was they wanted me to prepare some layouts for them which they would have used for some other purpose! So beware!!

Suggested reading:





Download a High Definition Free Desktop Wallpaper (powered by Webtips) »



Submit Comments >>


Are you a human being? Lets see .. Please type out these numbers.

Problem posting comments? Please mail your comments at mail.webtips@gmail.com

Send Trackback (what is it?) »
http://webtips.blogsome.com/2006/12/30/yet-another-tricky-spam-mail/trackback/


 


Recent Contributions

Ad-War-Tisement

Facebook Application Review: iThink

And The Winner is ..

Clear the Blogsome server cache in one click

Peace ho .. Jonathan Harris speaks

More.. Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4 | Page 5



^Back to top^

We follow creative commons 2.5 Prior permission should be taken from the admin before reproducing any part of this site.

Template by Ramnath || Free blogs at Blogsome

powered by WordPress 1.5.1-alpha